---
topic: startup-india
author: Crashtech Editorial
covers: October 2023
published: Oct 16, 2026 · read: 9 min
---

October 2023’s Startup India funding: rockets, factories and the IPO boundary

A source-grounded look at reported Indian startup financing in 2023-10, separating equity, debt, secondary sales and provisional deal mentions.

– –

Research snapshot · 16 October 2026. This evolving public-source retrospective has incomplete deal coverage and current-company verification. Provisional mentions are identified separately.

October’s tracker spans public-market capital, industrial manufacturing and private space ventures. The defining editorial task is to keep those instruments separate: an IPO is not a private venture round, and debt attached to an equity announcement is not equity. The month therefore reads less like one funding wave than a cross-section of companies financing very different stages and assets.

What the tracker records

The supplied tracker contains 20 recorded rows for 2023-10. Its own coverage label is incomplete_public_source_union, so it should be read as an incomplete public-source union rather than a census of Indian startup financing. Rows retain the reported amount and round wording; these are source descriptions, not a harmonised valuation or audited capital-flow series.

CompanyReported date labelReported amountRound / instrumentReported investorsOriginal round source
Honasa Consumer (Mamaearth)31 OctRs 1,701.44 crore (~$226 million)IPONot statedSource
Aequs30 Oct$54 Mn (Rs 448 crore)Series BAmansa Capital Amicus Capital Catamaran Ventures Sparta Group LLC +1Source
Skyroot Aerospace30 Oct$27 MnPre-Series CTemasekSource
Ola Electric26 Oct$384.43 Mn ($144.43 Mn equity + $240 Mn debt)Series E extension + DebtTemasek State Bank of IndiaSource
Garuda Aerospace25 Oct₹25 CrSeries A ExtensionVenture Catalysts We Founder Circle Hems Angels Peaceful Progress Funds +1Source
Mokobara19 Oct$3.6 Mn (₹29 Cr, Series A1 CCPS)Series A1Saama Capital Alteria Capital LogX Venture Sauce.vc +1Source
Zetwerk18 Oct₹966.7 Cr (~$118 Mn)Series F2Avenir Growth Capital D1 Capital Partners Footpath Ventures Greenoaks Capital +2Source
Agnikul Cosmos17 Oct$26.7 MnSeries BArtha Select Fund Artha Venture Fund Celesta Capital Mayfield +3Source
Emoha Eldercare13 Oct$11 MnPre-Series BGruhas Rainmatter Capital Ajay Srinivasan Alok Oberoi +1Source
Meesho13 OctVenture Highway sold a 1.5% stake to WestBridge Capital (secondary, no new capital raised)Secondary MarketWestBridge CapitalSource
Girnar Finserv11 OctUndisclosedSeries BMUFG BankSource
InsuranceDekho11 Oct$60 MnSeries BAvataar Ventures Beams Fintech Fund BNP Paribas Cardif Goldman Sachs Asset Management +2Source
Acceldata10 Oct$10 Mn additionSeries CProsperity7 VenturesSource
SuperOps10 Oct$12.4 MnSeries BAddition March Capital Matrix PartnersSource
Krutrim10 Oct$24 Mn (₹197 Cr debt)DebtZ47Source
Shiprocket9 Oct$11 MnSeries E2McKinseySource
Onsurity8 Oct$24 MnSeries BInternational Finance Corporation (IFC) Nexus Venture Partners Quona CapitalSource
Mensa Brands5 Oct$40 MnDebtEvolutionX Debt CapitalSource
Bizongo4 Oct$50 MnSeries ESchroder Adveq B Capital British International Investment Chiratae Ventures +1Source
Sleepy Owl1 Oct₹15 Cr (October 2023; exact day not specified in source)GrowthDSG Consumer Partners Rukam CapitalSource

Company profiles in the research record

Profile details come from supplied secondary profiles and are not independently verified here. A reported status is not a live operational check; omitted fields were not supplied.

CompanyBusiness / sectorFoundersFoundedReported statusProfile source
Honasa Consumer (Mamaearth)Beauty & Personal CareVarun Alagh, Ghazal Alagh2016ListedProfile
Aequsprecision manufacturing for aerospace and consumer productsAravind Melligeri2006ListedProfile
Ola Electricelectric scooters, motorcycles and battery technologyBhavish Aggarwal, Anand Shah2017ListedProfile
Garuda AerospaceAerospace & DefenseAgnishwar Jayaprakash, Rithika Mohan2015Not stated in linked profileProfile
MokobaraConsumer ProductsSangeet Agrawal, Navin Parwal2019Not stated in linked profileProfile
Agnikul Cosmossmall orbital launch vehicles and rocket enginesSrinath Ravichandran, Moin SPM, Satyanarayanan Chakravarthy, Janardhana Raju2017Not stated in linked profileProfile
Emoha EldercareElder CareSaumyajit Roy2019Not stated in linked profileProfile
MeeshoE-commerceVidit Aatrey, Sanjeev Barnwal2015ListedProfile
Girnar FinservFinancial ServicesAmit Jain, Anurag Jain2019SoonicornProfile
InsuranceDekhoFintechAnkit Agrawal, Ish Babbar2017Not stated in linked profileProfile
AcceldataData Infrastructure / AI OpsRohit Choudhary, Ashwin Rajeeva, Raghu Kandikonda, Gaurav Nagar2018Not stated in linked profileProfile
KrutrimArtificial IntelligenceBhavish Aggarwal2023UnicornProfile
ShiprocketE-commerce LogisticsSaahil Goel, Gautam Kapoor, Vishesh Khurana, Akshay Gulati2017UnicornProfile
Mensa BrandsConsumer GoodsAnanth Narayanan2021UnicornProfile
BizongoB2B MarketplaceAniket Deb, Sachin Agrawal, Ankit Tomar2015Not stated in linked profileProfile

Three companies to follow through the record

Agnikul Cosmos: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places Agnikul Cosmos in Aerospace and describes its work as small orbital launch vehicles and rocket engines. It lists Srinath Ravichandran, Moin SPM, Satyanarayanan Chakravarthy, Janardhana Raju as founders and gives 2017 as the founding year. For 2023-10, the tracker records $26.7 Mn in a Series B transaction, with Artha Select Fund Artha Venture Fund Celesta Capital Mayfield +3 named as investors.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places Agnikul Cosmos again in 2025-11, reporting $17 Mn as Series C1. That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

The profile also points to later reporting dated 1 Jul 2026: ma-strategic Agnikul Cosmos signs MoU with ICEYE to develop SAR earth-observation satellites in India. The underlying reference is linked here. This is secondary reported context, not independent verification of the claim or a live check of current operations.

Ola Electric: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places Ola Electric in Automotive and describes its work as electric scooters, motorcycles and battery technology. It lists Bhavish Aggarwal, Anand Shah as founders and gives 2017 as the founding year. For 2023-10, the tracker records $384.43 Mn ($144.43 Mn equity + $240 Mn debt) in a Series E extension + Debt transaction, with Temasek State Bank of India named as investors.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places Ola Electric again in 2024-08, reporting ₹5,500.06 crore fresh issue (₹6,145.56 crore total incl. OFS) as IPO (NSE: OLAELEC / BSE: 544225). That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

The profile also points to later reporting dated 29 May 2026: market-expansion Ola Electric plans to scale in-house battery-cell (Gigafactory) capacity from ~6 GWh toward 20 GWh by 2027. The underlying reference is linked here. This is secondary reported context, not independent verification of the claim or a live check of current operations.

Aequs: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places Aequs in Aerospace Manufacturing and describes its work as precision manufacturing for aerospace and consumer products. It lists Aravind Melligeri as founder and gives 2006 as the founding year. For 2023-10, the tracker records $54 Mn (Rs 448 crore) in a Series B transaction, with Amansa Capital Amicus Capital Catamaran Ventures Sparta Group LLC +1 named as investors.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places Aequs again in 2025-11, reporting ₹144 crore as Pre-IPO Placement. That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

The profile also points to later reporting dated 26 Sep 2026: funding Aequs: Preferential Allotment (Convertible Warrants) of 6,500,000,000 INR — board-approved; pending shareholder/EGM approval, not yet allotted. The underlying reference is linked here. This is secondary reported context, not independent verification of the claim or a live check of current operations.

Interpretation (inference): The juxtaposition of an EV IPO path, aerospace engineering and precision manufacturing suggests this cohort’s capital stories were shaped by long development and asset cycles as well as consumer scale. The records do not establish that those capital needs caused later financing.

Limits of this retrospective

This month’s tracker is an incomplete public-source sample. Later cohort entries and profile signals are research leads, sometimes repeated announcements or tranches, and are not reconciled or independently verified here. Current operations remain unknown unless expressly supported by dated evidence; profile labels such as Unicorn or Listed describe classifications, not operating status. Debt, secondary sales, IPOs and fresh equity remain distinct transaction types. The tables preserve tracker entries and provisional mentions rather than claiming a complete market count.

Advertisement

Sources & further reading

/* Comments */