---
topic: startup-india
author: Crashtech Editorial
covers: December 2023
published: Oct 16, 2026 · read: 10 min
---

December 2023’s Startup India funding: large cheques, debt and year-end signals

A source-grounded look at reported Indian startup financing in 2023-12, separating equity, debt, secondary sales and provisional deal mentions.

– –

Research snapshot · 16 October 2026. This evolving public-source retrospective has incomplete deal coverage and current-company verification. Provisional mentions are identified separately.

December’s dataset mixes large headline transactions with debt and other structures. A big reported amount can dominate coverage without describing the month’s breadth, and an “undisclosed” label is not a zero. We read the records as evidence of reported financing events, not a complete census or a clean estimate of fresh equity entering young companies.

What the tracker records

The supplied tracker contains 26 recorded rows for 2023-12. Its own coverage label is incomplete_public_source_union, so it should be read as an incomplete public-source union rather than a census of Indian startup financing. Rows retain the reported amount and round wording; these are source descriptions, not a harmonised valuation or audited capital-flow series.

CompanyReported date labelReported amountRound / instrumentReported investorsOriginal round source
NEPRA Resource Management29 DecRs 16.50 Cr NCDDebtNot statedSource
InCred25 Dec$60 MnSeries DRanjan Pai Ram Nayak Ravi Pillai Sattva Group +1Source
Flipkart22 Dec$600 MnUndisclosedWalmartSource
Fasal22 Dec₹100 Cr ($12 Mn)Series ABritish International Investment TDK Ventures 3one4 Capital Aureolis Ventures +6Source
India Shelter Finance Corporation20 Dec₹800 Cr fresh issue (IPO total incl. OFS ₹1,200 Cr)IPONot statedSource
GreyOrange20 Dec$135 MnSeries DAnthelion Capital 3STATE Ventures Blume Ventures Mithril CapitalSource
Kapture CX19 Dec$4 MnSeries AIndia AlternativesSource
Noise18 Dec$10 MnSeries ABose CorporationSource
Farmley17 Dec$6.7 MnPre-Series BBC Jindal Group Alkemi Partners DSG Consumer Partners OmnivoreSource
Exponent Energy14 Dec$26.4 MnSeries BEight Roads Ventures 3one4 Capital AdvantEdge Partners Lightspeed India Partners +3Source
QNu Labs14 Dec$6.5 MnPre-Series A1Lucky Investment Speciale InvestSource
Udaan14 Dec$340 MnSeries ELightspeed Venture Partners M&G Plc Altimeter Capital Apoletto Limited +2Source
Vegrow13 Dec$46 MnSeries CGIC Elevation Capital Lightspeed Venture Partners Prosus +1Source
Snitch13 Dec$13M (₹110 Cr)Series AIvyCap Ventures SWC GlobalSource
Twin Health13 Dec$50 MnSeries DTemasek Helena ICONIQ Growth Peak XV Partners +1Source
Aye Finance13 Dec$37 MnSeries FBritish International Investment A91 Partners Waterfield FundSource
ChargeZone12 DecUndisclosedVenture RoundMacquarie CapitalSource
Vivriti Capital12 Dec$30 MnDebtAxis Bank GuarantCoSource
Enthu.AI10 DecUndisclosedPre-SeedUpekkha Vertical AI AcceleratorSource
Sarvam AI7 Dec$41 Mn†Series ALightspeed Venture Partners Khosla Ventures Peak XV PartnersSource
The Sleep Company6 Dec$22 MnSeries CFireside Ventures Premji InvestSource
GODI Energy4 Dec₹50 CrStrategic InvestmentGraphite India LimitedSource
Cercle X1 DecUndisclosedSeedNot statedSource
Chakr Innovation1 Dec$6.58MDebtBritish International InvestmentSource
MasterChow1 Dec$3.2 MnPre-Series ASurge (Peak XV Partners)Source
WickedGud1 Dec₹1.5 CrVentureVenture CatalystsSource

† Sarvam AI round label: the company release calls the $41 million financing a Series A; some other accounts describe combined seed and Series A. The article preserves the company’s release and tracker label while noting the discrepancy below.

Company profiles in the research record

Profile details come from supplied secondary profiles and are not independently verified here. A reported status is not a live operational check; omitted fields were not supplied.

CompanyBusiness / sectorFoundersFoundedReported statusProfile source
NEPRA Resource Managementrecycling and recovery of dry wasteSandeep Patel, Dhrumin Patel, Ravi Patel2006Not stated in linked profileProfile
InCredCapital MarketsBhupinder Singh2016UnicornProfile
FlipkartE-commerceSachin Bansal, Binny Bansal2007InvestorProfile
FasalAgritechAnanda Prakash Verma, Shailendra Tiwari2018Not stated in linked profileProfile
India Shelter Finance CorporationFinancial ServicesAnil Mehta1998ListedProfile
GreyOrangeRetail TechUnknown in linked profileUnknownSoonicornProfile
Kapture CXCustomer Experience ManagementSheshgiri Kamath, Vikas Garg2014Not stated in linked profileProfile
NoiseConsumer ElectronicsAmit Khatri, Gaurav Khatri2014SoonicornProfile
FarmleyD2CAkash Sharma, Abhishek Agarwal2017Not stated in linked profileProfile
Exponent Energyfast charging systems and batteries for electric vehiclesArun Vinayak, Sanjay Byalal2020Not stated in linked profileProfile
SnitchD2CSiddharth Dungarwal2019SoonicornProfile
Aye FinanceFinancial ServicesSanjay Sharma, Vikram Jetley2014ListedProfile
ChargeZoneelectric vehicle charging infrastructureKartikey Hariyani, Pavan Bakeri2018Not stated in linked profileProfile
Enthu.AIContact Center SoftwareTushar Jain, Gaurav Mittal2021Not stated in linked profileProfile
GODI EnergyAdvanced ManufacturingMahesh Godi2020Not stated in linked profileProfile
Cercle XCircular EconomyVishnu Vardhaan, Divya Shetty2020Not stated in linked profileProfile
Chakr InnovationClean TechKushagra Srivastava, Arpit Dhupar, Prateek Sachan, Bharti Singhla2016Not stated in linked profileProfile
MasterChowD2C / FMCGVidur Kataria, Sidhanth Madan, Radhika Mittal2020Not stated in linked profileProfile

| Sarvam AI | AI company | Vivek Raghavan, Pratyush Kumar | Unknown | Not stated in linked profile | Company announcement |

Three companies to follow through the record

NEPRA Resource Management: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places NEPRA Resource Management in Clean Tech and describes its work as recycling and recovery of dry waste. It lists Sandeep Patel, Dhrumin Patel, Ravi Patel as founders and gives 2006 as the founding year. For 2023-12, the tracker records Rs 16.50 Cr NCD in a Debt transaction, and the tracker does not name investors.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places NEPRA Resource Management again in 2024-02, reporting Undisclosed as Secondary. That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

The profile also points to later reporting dated 6 Apr 2026: org-team PE investors install professional CEO/CFO at NEPRA; founders step down from the board. The underlying reference is linked here. This is secondary reported context, not independent verification of the claim or a live check of current operations.

Sarvam AI: a primary-source round name, then a much larger first close

Sarvam AI’s company announcement dated 7 December 2023 identifies founders Vivek Raghavan and Pratyush Kumar and calls its $41 million financing a Series A, with Lightspeed, Peak XV Partners and Khosla Ventures named as investors. The release is the original source for the tracker row. Some other accounts describe the financing as a combined seed and Series A; we preserve that discrepancy rather than harmonising the round label. The company’s own contemporaneous classification and the tracker’s row are Series A. (Sarvam AI’s announcement)

A later company release, dated 15 June 2026, announced a Series B first close of $234 million, with a $300 million target. The $300 million figure is the target for the whole round, not the amount confirmed in the first close. The release names HCLTech, Bessemer Venture Partners, Khosla Ventures and Peak XV Partners among investors. This is a company-announced financing milestone, not an independent audit or evidence that the full target was received. (Sarvam AI’s Series B announcement)

Interpretation (inference): The later first close is a striking financing contrast with the 2023 round, but it should not be turned into a return multiple or a claim of operating success. The dates and amounts document two company announcements; valuation, capital deployment and commercial outcomes require separate evidence.

Udaan: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places Udaan in business and describes its work as B2B commerce connecting brands and retailers. It lists not identified in the linked profile as founder and gives not stated as the founding year. For 2023-12, the tracker records $340 Mn in a Series E transaction, with Lightspeed Venture Partners M&G Plc Altimeter Capital Apoletto Limited +2 named as investors.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places Udaan again in 2024-01, reporting $33 Mn as Series F. That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places Udaan again in 2025-06, reporting $114 Mn as Series G. That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

Interpretation (inference): Waste recovery, B2B commerce and AI development point to different business models in the selected cohort. Sarvam’s 2026 first-close announcement is a later financing signal, not a sector-wide trend or proof of operating outcomes.

Limits of this retrospective

This month’s tracker is an incomplete public-source sample. Later cohort entries and profile signals are research leads, sometimes repeated announcements or tranches, and are not reconciled or independently verified here. Current operations remain unknown unless expressly supported by dated evidence; profile labels such as Unicorn or Listed describe classifications, not operating status. Debt, secondary sales, IPOs and fresh equity remain distinct transaction types. The tables preserve tracker entries and provisional mentions rather than claiming a complete market count.

Advertisement

Sources & further reading

/* Comments */