---
topic: startup-india
author: Crashtech Editorial
covers: April 2024
published: Oct 16, 2026 · read: 9 min
---

April 2024’s Startup India funding: a down round changes the month’s read

A source-grounded look at reported Indian startup financing in 2024-04, separating equity, debt, secondary sales and provisional deal mentions.

– –

Research snapshot · 16 October 2026. This evolving public-source retrospective has incomplete deal coverage and current-company verification. Provisional mentions are identified separately.

April’s recorded events resist a simple optimism narrative. The dataset includes a reported down round alongside other financing events, illustrating that valuation reset, runway support and growth financing can coexist. One month’s rows cannot establish the condition of the whole Indian startup market, but they can show why round quality matters more than a headline total.

What the tracker records

The supplied tracker contains 26 recorded rows for 2024-04. Its own coverage label is incomplete_public_source_union, so it should be read as an incomplete public-source union rather than a census of Indian startup financing. Rows retain the reported amount and round wording; these are source descriptions, not a harmonised valuation or audited capital-flow series.

CompanyReported date labelReported amountRound / instrumentReported investorsOriginal round source
ChargeZone30 Apr$19 MnVenture RoundBritish International InvestmentSource
PharmEasy30 Apr$216 Mn (~₹1,804 Cr)Down round (rights issue)Manipal Education and Medical Group (MEMG) / Ranjan Pai 360 One Portfolios CDPQ Private Equity Evolution Debt Capital +4Source
Portea Medical29 Apr$20 MnSeries D1Existing shareholdersSource
BankBazaar26 Apr₹50 CroreDebtVistra ITCL (India) LimitedSource
BankBazaar26 Apr₹80 Crore ($9.6 Million)Series D2Not statedSource
Northern Arc Capital25 Apr$80 MnEquity & DebtInternational Finance Corporation (IFC)Source
LetsTransport24 Apr$22 MnSeries EBertelsmann India Investments ALES Global CAC Capital NB Ventures +2Source
Dhruva Space22 Apr₹123 Cr ($15 Mn)Series ABIG Global Investment JSC Blue Ashva Capital Blume Founders Fund Indian Angel Network +5Source
Ecozen Solutions19 Apr$30 MnDebt + EquityInCred Credit Fund Nuveen U.S. International Development Finance CorporationSource
Farmagain18 AprUndisclosedAngelNot statedSource
Altum Credo Home Finance18 Apr$27 Mn (of $40 Mn headline)Series COikocredit Z3 Partners Aavishkaar Capital Amicus Capital +2Source
Varthana17 Apr$10 MnDebtBlueOrchard FinanceSource
ClickPost16 Apr$6 MnSeries AAthera Venture Partners Inflexor Ventures Rebright Partners Riverwalk HoldingsSource
Meesho16 Apr$275MSeries F (extension)Sequoia Capital India Tiger Global ManagementSource
5C Network12 Apr$3 MnUndisclosedRedwood India Healthcare FundSource
Neysa10 Apr$20 MnSeedNexus Venture Partners NTTVC Z47Source
Recykal10 Apr₹110 Cr ($13 Mn)Pre-Series B360 ONE AssetSource
Sprinto9 Apr$20 MnSeries BAccel Blume Ventures Elevation CapitalSource
AutoNxt Automation9 Apr$3 MnPre-Series ASaama Capital Amit Singhal Bluehill Capital Keiretsu Forum +2Source
Emoha Eldercare9 Apr₹10.16 Cr ($1.2 Mn)Corporate RoundSIS LimitedSource
Traya3 Apr₹75 CrSeries AXponentia CapitalSource
Namdev Finvest2 Apr$19 MnPre-Series CMAJ Invest Promoters GroupSource
La Renon Healthcare1 Apr₹600 Cr (~$70 Mn)SecondaryChrysCapitalSource
Bombay Shaving Company1 Apr₹24 Cr ($3 Mn)DebtAlteria CapitalSource
Innoviti Payment Solutions1 AprRs 40 Cr (first close)Series EBessemer Venture Partners Patni Family OfficeSource
Good Glamm Group1 Apr$30 Mn (₹245.5 Cr)BridgeAccel Bessemer Venture Partners Prosus Warburg PincusSource

Company profiles in the research record

Profile details come from supplied secondary profiles and are not independently verified here. A reported status is not a live operational check; omitted fields were not supplied.

CompanyBusiness / sectorFoundersFoundedReported statusProfile source
ChargeZoneelectric vehicle charging infrastructureKartikey Hariyani, Pavan Bakeri2018Not stated in linked profileProfile
Portea Medicalhome-based medical careMeena Ganesh, Ganesh Krishnan, Vaibhav Tewari2013Not stated in linked profileProfile
BankBazaarConsumer LendingAdhil Shetty, Arjun Shetty, Rati Shetty2008Not stated in linked profileProfile
Northern Arc CapitalAffordable Housing FinanceUnknown in linked profile2009ListedProfile
LetsTransportB2B MarketplacePushkar Singh, Sudarshan Ravi, Ankit Parasher, Prateek Pujari2015Not stated in linked profileProfile
Dhruva SpaceAerospace & DefenseSanjay Nekkanti, Abhay Egoor, Chaitanya Dora Surapureddy, Krishna Teja Penamakuru2012Not stated in linked profileProfile
Ecozen SolutionsAgritechDevendra Gupta, Vivek Pandey, Prateek Singhal2010Not stated in linked profileProfile
FarmagainAgritechBenjamin Raja, Edna Myrtle Rupavathi Benjamin, Kamalies John Christopher, Adithyan Asokan2013Not stated in linked profileProfile
Altum Credo Home FinanceFintechVikrant Bhagwat, Ganesh Rao, Ashish Tewari2016Not stated in linked profileProfile
ClickPostE-commerce EnablementNaman Vijay, Prashant Gupta2015Not stated in linked profileProfile
MeeshoE-commerceVidit Aatrey, Sanjeev Barnwal2015ListedProfile
5C NetworkDiagnosticsKalyan Sivasailam, Syed Ahmed2016Not stated in linked profileProfile
NeysaAI InfrastructureSharad Sanghi, Anindya Das2023UnicornProfile
AutoNxt AutomationAgritechKaustubh Dhonde, Pankaj Goyal2016Not stated in linked profileProfile
Emoha EldercareElder CareSaumyajit Roy2019Not stated in linked profileProfile
Namdev Finvestloans for small businesses and underserved borrowersJitendra Tanwar2013Not stated in linked profileProfile
La Renon HealthcareHealthcarePankaj Singh2007Not stated in linked profileProfile
Bombay Shaving CompanyD2CShantanu Deshpande, Raunak Munot, Deepu Panicker, Rohit Jaiswal2015Not stated in linked profileProfile
Innoviti Payment SolutionsFintechRajeev Agrawal, Amrita Malik2002Not stated in linked profileProfile
Good Glamm GroupBeauty & Personal CareDarpan Sanghvi, Priyanka Gill, Naiyya Saggi2015UnicornProfile

Three companies to follow through the record

PharmEasy: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places PharmEasy in business and describes its work as online pharmacy and healthcare services. It lists not identified in the linked profile as founder and gives not stated as the founding year. For 2024-04, the tracker records $216 Mn (~₹1,804 Cr) in a Down round (rights issue) transaction, with Manipal Education and Medical Group (MEMG) / Ranjan Pai 360 One Portfolios CDPQ Private Equity Evolution Debt Capital +4 named as investors.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places PharmEasy again in 2025-09, reporting ₹1,700 Cr (~$193 Mn) as Debt (NCDs). That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

Portea Medical: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places Portea Medical in Healthtech and describes its work as home-based medical care. It lists Meena Ganesh, Ganesh Krishnan, Vaibhav Tewari as founders and gives 2013 as the founding year. For 2024-04, the tracker records $20 Mn in a Series D1 transaction, with Existing shareholders named as investors.

The profile also points to later reporting dated 12 Apr 2023: regulatory SEBI approves Portea Medical parent Healthvista India’s Rs 1,000 crore IPO. The underlying reference is linked here. This is secondary reported context, not independent verification of the claim or a live check of current operations.

ChargeZone: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places ChargeZone in Clean Tech and describes its work as electric vehicle charging infrastructure. It lists Kartikey Hariyani, Pavan Bakeri as founders and gives 2018 as the founding year. For 2024-04, the tracker records $19 Mn in a Venture Round transaction, with British International Investment named as investors.

The supplied cohort-followup and profile signals do not provide a dated subsequent event for ChargeZone. That is a limit of this research packet, not evidence that the company stopped operating or received no later financing. Its 2024 row should stand on its own as a report of the transaction captured at that time.

Interpretation (inference): The mix of health services, home care and EV charging highlights that businesses in adjacent broad categories can face distinct financing pressures. The source set does not establish causation or current operating health.

Limits of this retrospective

This month’s tracker is an incomplete public-source sample. Later cohort entries and profile signals are research leads, sometimes repeated announcements or tranches, and are not reconciled or independently verified here. Current operations remain unknown unless expressly supported by dated evidence; profile labels such as Unicorn or Listed describe classifications, not operating status. Debt, secondary sales, IPOs and fresh equity remain distinct transaction types. The tables preserve tracker entries and provisional mentions rather than claiming a complete market count.

Advertisement

Sources & further reading

/* Comments */