---
topic: startup-india
author: Crashtech Editorial
covers: May 2024
published: Oct 16, 2026 · read: 10 min
---

May 2024’s Startup India funding: primary capital and secondary liquidity diverge

A source-grounded look at reported Indian startup financing in 2024-05, separating equity, debt, secondary sales and provisional deal mentions.

– –

Research snapshot · 16 October 2026. This evolving public-source retrospective has incomplete deal coverage and current-company verification. Provisional mentions are identified separately.

May’s records make the primary-versus-secondary distinction unusually important. In a mixed transaction, only the primary portion directly adds capital to the company; secondary shares pay selling shareholders. Debt instruments also require separate treatment. The headline figure can therefore be a poor proxy for money available to fund operations.

What the tracker records

The supplied tracker contains 28 recorded rows for 2024-05. Its own coverage label is incomplete_public_source_union, so it should be read as an incomplete public-source union rather than a census of Indian startup financing. Rows retain the reported amount and round wording; these are source descriptions, not a harmonised valuation or audited capital-flow series.

CompanyReported date labelReported amountRound / instrumentReported investorsOriginal round source
SEDEMAC31 May$9 Mn primary (of a $100 Mn total transaction incl. $91 Mn secondary)Growth (Primary + Secondary)360 ONE Asset A91 Partners Xponentia CapitalSource
PetChef31 May$149.77KPre-Seed100X.VC Sporos PlatformSource
Country Delight31 May₹76.65 Cr (~$9 Mn)Venture Debt / Equity (NCDs + CCPS)Alteria CapitalSource
MediBuddy30 May$8.4 Mn (₹70 Cr)DebtAlteria Capital InnoVen CapitalSource
Libas30 May₹150 Cr (~$18 Mn)Private EquityICICI VentureSource
Wealthy30 May$5.4 MnUndisclosedAlpha Wave Incubation Good Capital Savrola Lakshmi LLCSource
Skippi Ice Pops28 May₹10 Cr ($1.2 Mn)Pre-Series AHyderabad Angel Network Venture Catalysts HEM Securities Soonicorn VenturesSource
High Street Essentials27 May$6 Mn (₹50 Cr)UndisclosedSangita Jindal Krishna Bodanapu SRF Group family office Timmy SarnaSource
Zypp Electric27 May$15 MnSeries C1ENEOS 9Unicorns Indian Angel Network Venture Catalysts +1Source
Stanza Living24 May$13 MnBridgeAlpha Wave Accel Peak XV Partners Z47Source
Flipkart24 May$350 MnUndisclosedGoogleSource
Dvara KGFS24 May$10 MnDebtBlueOrchard Microfinance FundSource
Awfis22 May$71.9 MnIPONot statedSource
UnifyApps22 May$11 MnSeedElevation CapitalSource
Varthana20 May₹27 Cr (~$3.2 Mn)DebtTriodos Investment ManagementSource
Propelld17 May$25 MnDebtAU Small Finance Bank Credit Saison India InCred Northern Arc CapitalSource
Gramophone16 May₹15 Cr (~$1.8 Mn) — Info Edge’s tranche of a larger roundUndisclosedInfo Edge (India)Source
RED.Health15 May$20 MnSeries BJungle Ventures Alteria Capital HealthQuad HealthXCapitalSource
Biorad Medisys15 May₹400 CrPrivate EquityKotak Strategic Situations India Fund IISource
Go Digit General Insurance15 May$313 MnIPOAbu Dhabi Investment Authority Axis Mutual Fund Bay Pond Partners Edelweiss Mutual Fund +9Source
Celcius Logistics14 May₹40 Cr ($4.8 Mn)Pre-Series BIvyCap Ventures Caret Capital Mumbai AngelsSource
Rupeek14 MayRs 50 CrUndisclosed360 ONE AssetSource
Annapurna Finance13 May$75 MnGrowth EquityPiramal AlternativesSource
K12 Techno Services9 May$27 Mn (INR 225.18 Cr)SecondaryVenturi PartnersSource
Atlan8 May$105 MnSeries CGIC Meritech Capital Salesforce Ventures Sequoia Capital IndiaSource
ICON7 May$1.2 MnSeedDSG Consumer PartnersSource
NephroPlus6 May$103 MnSeries FQuadria CapitalSource
Superplum6 May$15 MnSeries AErik Ragatz Binny Bansal Dan Rose Kabir Misra +3Source

Company profiles in the research record

Profile details come from supplied secondary profiles and are not independently verified here. A reported status is not a live operational check; omitted fields were not supplied.

CompanyBusiness / sectorFoundersFoundedReported statusProfile source
SEDEMACelectronic control systems for engines and powertrainsShashikanth Suryanarayanan, Pushkaraj Panse, Amit Dixit, Manish Sharma2007ListedProfile
PetChefD2C / Direct-to-ConsumerNayan Shah, Akshay Patel, Nakul Ruparel2022Not stated in linked profileProfile
Country Delightsubscription delivery of fresh food and dairyChakradhar Gade, Nitin Kaushal, Tek Chand, Srilakshmi Akula, Amar Singh Kaushal2015InvestorProfile
MediBuddyDiagnosticsSatish Kannan, Enbasekar Dinadayalane2013Not stated in linked profileProfile
LibasD2CSunil Keshwani, Sidhant Keshwani1985Not stated in linked profileProfile
Skippi Ice PopsD2CRavi Kabra, Anuja Kabra2021Shark Tank IndiaProfile
High Street EssentialsApparelTanvi Malik, Shivani Poddar2012Not stated in linked profileProfile
FlipkartE-commerceSachin Bansal, Binny Bansal2007InvestorProfile
Dvara KGFSFintechBindu Ananth2008Not stated in linked profileProfile
AwfisCommercial Real EstateAmit Ramani2015ListedProfile
GramophoneAgritechTauseef Khan, Nishant Vats Mahatre, Harshit Gupta, Ashish Rajan Singh, Navneet Singh Batra2016AcquiredProfile
RED.HealthEmergency Medical ServicesPrabhdeep Singh, Antoine Poirson, Jose Leon2016Not stated in linked profileProfile
Biorad MedisysMedical DevicesJ M Hegde, Suchitra Hegde2000Not stated in linked profileProfile
Go Digit General InsuranceFintechKamesh Goyal2016ListedProfile
Celcius Logisticstemperature-controlled logisticsSwarup Bose, Rajneesh Raman, Arbind Jain2020Not stated in linked profileProfile
Annapurna FinanceFinancial ServicesGobinda Chandra Pattanaik, Dibyajyoti Pattanaik2009Not stated in linked profileProfile
K12 Techno ServicesEdTechUnknown in linked profile2010Not stated in linked profileProfile
AtlanArtificial IntelligencePrukalpa Sankar, Varun Banka2019Not stated in linked profileProfile
ICONConsumer GoodsMohammad Patel, Poojan Shah, Fazal Lakhani, Aakash Mehta2023Not stated in linked profileProfile
NephroPlusHealthcare ServicesVikram Vuppala, Kamal D. Shah, Sandeep Gudibanda2010ListedProfile

Three companies to follow through the record

SEDEMAC: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places SEDEMAC in Auto Components and describes its work as electronic control systems for engines and powertrains. It lists Shashikanth Suryanarayanan, Pushkaraj Panse, Amit Dixit, Manish Sharma as founders and gives 2007 as the founding year. For 2024-05, the tracker records $9 Mn primary (of a $100 Mn total transaction incl. $91 Mn secondary) in a Growth (Primary + Secondary) transaction, with 360 ONE Asset A91 Partners Xponentia Capital named as investors.

The profile also points to later reporting dated 11 Mar 2026: financial SEDEMAC lists on NSE and BSE after ₹1,087 Cr IPO (pure offer-for-sale). The underlying reference is linked here. This is secondary reported context, not independent verification of the claim or a live check of current operations.

Country Delight: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places Country Delight in AgriTech / FoodTech and describes its work as subscription delivery of fresh food and dairy. It lists Chakradhar Gade, Nitin Kaushal, Tek Chand, Srilakshmi Akula, Amar Singh Kaushal as founders and gives 2015 as the founding year. For 2024-05, the tracker records ₹76.65 Cr (~$9 Mn) in a Venture Debt / Equity (NCDs + CCPS) transaction, with Alteria Capital named as investors.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places Country Delight again in 2024-08, reporting ₹70 Cr (~$8.45 Mn) as Venture Debt. That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places Country Delight again in 2024-10, reporting ₹200 Cr (~$24 Mn) as Venture Debt (final close). That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

The profile also points to later reporting dated 8 Jun 2026: growth-traction Country Delight wins ‘Food Safety & Quality Company of the Year’ at the India Food Safety Summit & Awards 2026. The underlying reference is linked here. This is secondary reported context, not independent verification of the claim or a live check of current operations.

Celcius Logistics: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places Celcius Logistics in Cold Chain Logistics and describes its work as temperature-controlled logistics. It lists Swarup Bose, Rajneesh Raman, Arbind Jain as founders and gives 2020 as the founding year. For 2024-05, the tracker records ₹40 Cr ($4.8 Mn) in a Pre-Series B transaction, with IvyCap Ventures Caret Capital Mumbai Angels named as investors.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places Celcius Logistics again in 2025-05, reporting ₹250 Cr (~$30 Mn) as Series B. That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

Interpretation (inference): This cohort spans embedded industrial electronics, recurring food delivery and cold-chain logistics. The later records make clear that follow-on financing may take varied forms; the sample does not rank the underlying businesses.

Limits of this retrospective

This month’s tracker is an incomplete public-source sample. Later cohort entries and profile signals are research leads, sometimes repeated announcements or tranches, and are not reconciled or independently verified here. Current operations remain unknown unless expressly supported by dated evidence; profile labels such as Unicorn or Listed describe classifications, not operating status. Debt, secondary sales, IPOs and fresh equity remain distinct transaction types. The tables preserve tracker entries and provisional mentions rather than claiming a complete market count.

Advertisement

Sources & further reading

/* Comments */