---
topic: startup-india
author: Crashtech Editorial
covers: August 2024
published: Oct 16, 2026 · read: 10 min
---

August 2024’s Startup India funding: consumer brands and selective growth capital

A source-grounded look at reported Indian startup financing in 2024-08, separating equity, debt, secondary sales and provisional deal mentions.

– –

Research snapshot · 16 October 2026. This evolving public-source retrospective has incomplete deal coverage and current-company verification. Provisional mentions are identified separately.

August’s tracker rows are kept distinct from a separate set of weekly-source mentions. The latter are provisional references: week headings do not establish an exact announcement date, and a mention does not confirm that a deal belongs to this month. This separation makes the retrieved tracker and the noisier discovery layer legible without inflating the month’s deal count.

What the tracker records

The supplied tracker contains 26 recorded rows for 2024-08. Its own coverage label is incomplete_public_source_union, so it should be read as an incomplete public-source union rather than a census of Indian startup financing. Rows retain the reported amount and round wording; these are source descriptions, not a harmonised valuation or audited capital-flow series.

CompanyReported date labelReported amountRound / instrumentReported investorsOriginal round source
Blue Tokai Coffee Roasters31 Aug$35 MnSeries CVerlinvest A91 Partners Anicut CapitalSource
Agrim29 Aug$17.3MSeries BAsia Impact Accion Venture Lab India Quotient Kalaari Capital +1Source
Rage Coffee28 Aug44% equity stake (primary infusion + secondary purchase), amount undisclosedCorporate RoundGRM OverseasSource
Swiggy28 AugUndisclosedSeries K (secondary/extension, unverified beyond aggregator)Amitabh Bachchan family officeSource
Convin27 Aug$6.5MSeries AIndia Quotient 9Unicorns JSW Ventures Kalaari Capital +2Source
Yubi26 Aug₹250 Cr (~$30 Mn)EquityGaurav KumarSource
Axio23 Aug$20 MnUndisclosedAmazon Smbhav Venture FundSource
BlueStone22 Aug$107.14 MnSecondaryPratithi Investments Prosus Sequoia Capital India Steadview Capital +1Source
DMI Finance22 Aug$334 MnPrivate EquityMUFG BankSource
Even Healthcare21 Aug$20 MnSeries AKhosla Ventures 8VC DLB Ventures Lex Italia +4Source
FlexiLoans17 Aug₹75 Cr (~$9 Mn)DebtJM FinancialSource
Cutshort15 Aug$500KAngelGaurav Roy Kechit Goyal Sachin Bhatia SupermorpheusSource
FirstCry13 Aug₹4,193.74 CrIPONot statedSource
Vayana Network13 Aug₹170.8 Cr (~$20.5 Mn)Series DSMBC Asia Rising Fund Chiratae Ventures Emerald Company Pvt. Ltd International Finance Corporation (IFC) +2Source
Skydo13 Aug$5 MnPre-Series AElevation CapitalSource
Ather Energy13 Aug$71 MillionVenture Round (Unicorn round)National Investment and Infrastructure Fund (NIIF)Source
Zepto13 Aug$340 millionSeries GMars Growth Capital Avra General Catalyst Lightspeed Venture Partners +2Source
Innoviti Payment Solutions12 AugRs 70 Cr (~$8.3-8.5 Mn, equity + debt)Series ERandom Walk Solutions Alumni Ventures Bessemer Venture Partners Patni Family OfficeSource
OYO12 Aug$175 million totalGrowth round (close)Not statedSource
Ola Electric9 Aug₹5,500.06 crore fresh issue (₹6,145.56 crore total incl. OFS)IPO (NSE: OLAELEC / BSE: 544225)Not statedSource
Genworks Health8 Aug$5 MnUndisclosedEvolvence Fund Kasiraman Swaminathan Ramesh Kumar Sivaraman Somerset Indus Healthcare FundSource
SigTuple7 Aug$4 Mn (₹33 Cr, extended Series C)Series CSIDBI Venture Capital Endiya PartnersSource
Fourth Partner Energy6 Aug$275 MnPrivate EquityInternational Finance Corporation (IFC) Asian Development Bank DEGSource
greytHR5 AugUndisclosedSeries FApax Digital Fund IISource
ShareChat4 Aug$16 Mn (Rs 134 Cr)Debt (convertible debentures extension)EDBISource
Country Delight4 Aug₹70 Cr (~$8.45 Mn)Venture DebtAlteria CapitalSource

Company profiles in the research record

Profile details come from supplied secondary profiles and are not independently verified here. A reported status is not a live operational check; omitted fields were not supplied.

CompanyBusiness / sectorFoundersFoundedReported statusProfile source
Blue Tokai Coffee Roastersspecialty coffee roasting and retailMatt Chitharanjan, Namrata Asthana, Shivam Shahi2013Not stated in linked profileProfile
AgrimAgri-Inputs MarketplaceMukul Garg, Avi Jain2020Not stated in linked profileProfile
ConvinContact Center SoftwareAshish Santhalia, Bharat Patidar, Atul Shree, Durgesh Choudhary2021Not stated in linked profileProfile
AxioBNPLGaurav Hinduja, Sashank Rishyasringa2013AcquiredProfile
BlueStoneD2CGaurav Singh Kushwaha, Vidya Nataraj, Sudeep Nagar2011ListedProfile
DMI FinanceConsumer FinanceShivashish Chatterjee, Yuvraja C. Singh2008InvestorProfile
Even HealthcareHealth InsuranceMayank Banerjee, Matilde Giglio, Alessandro Davide Ialongo2020Not stated in linked profileProfile
FlexiLoansdigital loans for small and medium businessesManish Lunia, Deepak Jain, Ritesh Jain, Abhishek Kothari2015Not stated in linked profileProfile
CutshortHRTechNikunj Verma, Anubhav Gupta2015Not stated in linked profileProfile
FirstCryBaby & Kids ProductsSupam Maheshwari, Amitava Saha2010ListedProfile
SkydoB2B PaymentsSrivatsan Sridhar, Movin Jain2022Not stated in linked profileProfile
Ather Energyelectric scooters and charging servicesTarun Mehta, Swapnil Jain2013ListedProfile
Innoviti Payment SolutionsFintechRajeev Agrawal, Amrita Malik2002Not stated in linked profileProfile
Ola Electricelectric scooters, motorcycles and battery technologyBhavish Aggarwal, Anand Shah2017ListedProfile
Genworks HealthDiagnosticsS GaneshPrasad, R Balaji (Balaji R Raghupathy), Kiran Thadimarri2015Not stated in linked profileProfile
Fourth Partner EnergyCommercial & Industrial Clean EnergyVivek Subramanian, Saif Dhorajiwala, Vikas Saluguti2010Not stated in linked profileProfile
greytHRHR TechGirish Rowjee, Sayeed Anjum1994Not stated in linked profileProfile
Country Delightsubscription delivery of fresh food and dairyChakradhar Gade, Nitin Kaushal, Tek Chand, Srilakshmi Akula, Amar Singh Kaushal2015InvestorProfile

Three companies to follow through the record

Blue Tokai Coffee Roasters: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places Blue Tokai Coffee Roasters in D2C and describes its work as specialty coffee roasting and retail. It lists Matt Chitharanjan, Namrata Asthana, Shivam Shahi as founders and gives 2013 as the founding year. For 2024-08, the tracker records $35 Mn in a Series C transaction, with Verlinvest A91 Partners Anicut Capital named as investors.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places Blue Tokai Coffee Roasters again in 2025-09, reporting $25 Mn (~₹220 Cr) as Bridge. That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places Blue Tokai Coffee Roasters again in 2026-05, reporting ₹175 Cr ($19 Mn) as Series D2 (extension). That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

FlexiLoans: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places FlexiLoans in Digital Lending and describes its work as digital loans for small and medium businesses. It lists Manish Lunia, Deepak Jain, Ritesh Jain, Abhishek Kothari as founders and gives 2015 as the founding year. For 2024-08, the tracker records ₹75 Cr (~$9 Mn) in a Debt transaction, with JM Financial named as investors.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places FlexiLoans again in 2024-09, reporting $34.5 Mn (₹290 Cr) as Series C. That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places FlexiLoans again in 2025-06, reporting $44 Mn (₹375 Cr) as Series C. That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

Ather Energy: the original financing and what followed

the supplied company profile places Ather Energy in Automotive and describes its work as electric scooters and charging services. It lists Tarun Mehta, Swapnil Jain as founders and gives 2013 as the founding year. For 2024-08, the tracker records $71 Million in a Venture Round (Unicorn round) transaction, with National Investment and Infrastructure Fund (NIIF) named as investors.

A later entry in the supplied tracker places Ather Energy again in 2025-04, reporting ₹2,981 Crore as IPO. That observation is linked to its cited report. It is a later record in the research sample, not independently reconciled here to a closed round, a distinct tranche or the same legal entity. Read narrowly, it shows that the company name reappears in subsequent financing coverage; it does not establish survival, performance or investor returns.

The profile also points to later reporting dated 28 Sep 2026: growth-traction Ather Energy crosses 8 lakh cumulative retail sales on Vahan. The underlying reference is linked here. This is secondary reported context, not independent verification of the claim or a live check of current operations.

Interpretation (inference): Coffee retail and electric mobility sit beside a digital lender, showing how one month’s tracker may combine inventory-led, infrastructure and credit models. Later events do not reveal whether the August capital achieved its intended use.

Limits of this retrospective

This month’s tracker is an incomplete public-source sample. Later cohort entries and profile signals are research leads, sometimes repeated announcements or tranches, and are not reconciled or independently verified here. Current operations remain unknown unless expressly supported by dated evidence; profile labels such as Unicorn or Listed describe classifications, not operating status. Debt, secondary sales, IPOs and fresh equity remain distinct transaction types. The tables preserve tracker entries and provisional mentions rather than claiming a complete market count.

Advertisement

Sources & further reading

/* Comments */