topic: startup-india
author: Crashtech Editorial
covers: December 2025
published: Oct 16, 2026 · read: 32 min
---
December 2025: strategic capital, software and a public offer
CollegeDekho, Emergent and Meesho reveal distinct ownership and financing paths in December’s startup cohort, including a reported operating claim.
On this page
Research snapshot · 16 October 2026. This evolving public-source retrospective has incomplete deal coverage and current-company verification. Provisional mentions are identified separately.
December is a month of ownership transitions as much as fundraising. A strategic investment in an education platform sits alongside a public-market offer and venture rounds. The distinctions become especially clear when looking at CollegeDekho, Emergent and Meesho.
CollegeDekho: what the financing sits beside
CollegeDekho connects students with colleges and admissions guidance, with adjacent study-abroad, test-prep and skills offerings in its company profile. Founded in 2015 by Ruchir Arora, Rajiv Singh, Saurabh Jain and Rohit Saha, it received a reported $10 million corporate-minority investment from CarDekho Group. That relationship matters: the named investor is also its group backer, so the transaction is strategic as well as a capital event. Inc42’s report carried a CEO statement that the business had reached profitability. That is a reported management claim, not audited financial evidence in this packet. The profile also records earlier acquisitions; this funding can be read against an accumulated admissions and enrollment platform, but the sources do not specify use of proceeds. The tracker reports Corporate Minority, $10 Mn, naming CarDekho Group.; founders: Ruchir Arora, Rajiv Singh, Saurabh Jain, Rohit Saha; profile year: 2015. Funding report and company profile.
Emergent: what the financing sits beside
Emergent represents the fast-moving software end of the cohort. Founded in 2025 by brothers Mukund and Madhav Jha, the Bengaluru company offers a natural-language route for users to create full-stack web and mobile applications. Its later $130 million Series C appears in July 2026, but in December the tracker lists an earlier venture event. The profile’s subsequent signal says Emergent reported crossing $100 million ARR and launching a mobile app in February 2026. That milestone is a company claim relayed by TechCrunch, and its period, recognition policy and audit status are not established here. Still, the sequence gives readers a concrete question: how quickly can a creation tool turn initial adoption into recurring paid usage? The tracker reports Corporate, Undisclosed, naming Google AI Futures Fund.; founders: Mukund Jha, Madhav Jha; profile year: 2025. Funding report and company profile.
Meesho: what the financing sits beside
Meesho belongs to a different financing category in this month’s table: its row is an IPO, not a private venture round. The distinction between primary proceeds and secondary shareholder sales matters because an offer’s total size does not equal fresh capital received by the company. The tracker record should therefore be read as a public-market event and checked against the offer documents for allocation. It offers a useful contrast with CollegeDekho’s strategic minority investment: one is shaped by public issuance rules and public shareholders, the other by a group investor’s corporate relationship. Neither label answers whether the company’s economics or user experience improved after financing. The tracker reports IPO, ₹5,421.20 Cr (~$645M); fresh issue ₹4,250 Cr + OFS ₹1,171.20 Cr, naming investors not stated.; founders: Vidit Aatrey, Sanjeev Barnwal; profile year: 2015. Funding report and company profile.
What later reporting adds
Supply6 appears in the 2026-07 tracker cohort with Undisclosed and ₹48 Cr ($5 Mn). Lawyered appears in the 2026-04 tracker cohort with Pre-Series A and $2.5 Mn. OneCard appears in the 2026-07 tracker cohort with Series D (tranche) and $7.6 Mn. Emergent appears in the 2026-01 tracker cohort with Series B and $70 Mn. Emergent appears in the 2026-07 tracker cohort with Series C and $130 Mn. Ultraviolette Automotive appears in the 2026-09 tracker cohort with Series E and $85 Mn. These are later tracker observations, not verified follow-on rounds, survival evidence or investor returns. A repeated round label may reflect a tranche, a commitment or duplicated reporting. The packet supplies no consistent audited outcome series, so these notices are leads for further checking rather than a performance verdict.
What to watch next
A group investor, a public offer and a fast-growing software claim belong to separate financial stories. Their common thread is that ownership context and operating evidence matter more than putting the reported amounts on one scale.
Evidence limits
The tracker row and linked report are discovery evidence, not an independently verified closing record. Amounts and round names are reproduced as reported, with equity, debt, mixed, secondary and listed-market events kept distinct in the register. Founders, founding years and profile classifications come from secondary profiles; a Unicorn or Soonicorn badge is a classification, never proof of current operations. Current operating status is unknown in this evidence set. Monthly coverage is incomplete and the weekly-source list remains provisional; it is not an exhaustive record of announced or closed financing.
Deal register
Every tracker row retrieved for December 2025 appears below. Dates reproduce tracker day labels and are not independently confirmed announcement dates. The amount and investor names preserve the research record’s wording, including “+N” shorthand and undisclosed fields. Each company name links to the supplied original-source article, while the final column links to the tracker discovery page. The source record marks these as tracker-only; this register should be read as a reporting index, not an audited transaction database.
| Tracker date label | Company and original report | Round / instrument as reported | Amount as reported | Investors as reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26 Dec | CollegeDekho | Corporate Minority | $10 Mn | CarDekho Group |
| 23 Dec | Heads Up For Tails | Series B | $25 Mn | Apparel Group India Malinea Pte Care Limited |
| 23 Dec | Supply6 | Angel | Undisclosed | Kriti Sanon |
| 19 Dec | WorkIndia | Series B | $10.8 Mn | Aavishkaar Capital BeeNext |
| 19 Dec | StockGro | Series B1 | $13 Mn | BITKRAFT Ventures |
| 17 Dec | WickedGud | Undisclosed | ₹20 Cr | Asiana Fund Orios Venture Partners Ajay Mehta Rahul Colaco +3 |
| 16 Dec | Digantara | Series B | $50M (₹435 Cr) | Reliance Business Ventures 360 ONE Asset Kalaari Capital Peak XV Partners +2 |
| 16 Dec | MoEngage | Series F | $180 Mn | ChrysCapital Dragon Funds B Capital Schroders Capital +1 |
| 16 Dec | Moxie Beauty | Series A | $15 Mn | Bessemer Venture Partners Arjun Purkayastha Fireside Ventures Navin Parwal +4 |
| 15 Dec | Lawyered | Angel | ₹8.5 Cr | Arjun Vaidya Pawan Jaggi Priyanka Salot Sandesh Sharda |
| 15 Dec | Wakefit | IPO | ₹377.18 Cr fresh issue (company proceeds, ~$44.9 Mn); total IPO issue size was ₹1,288.89 Cr, which also included ₹911.71 Cr Offer-For-Sale to selling shareholders — not new company funding | Not stated |
| 12 Dec | OneCard | Debt | Rs 40 Cr (~$4.5 Mn) | Alteria Capital |
| 11 Dec | STAGE | Secondary | ₹4.2 Cr | Hissa Fund |
| 10 Dec | Earthful | Pre-Series A | ₹26 Cr (~$3.1 Mn) | Fireside Ventures V3 Ventures Atrium Angels |
| 10 Dec | Skydo | Series A | $10 Mn | Susquehanna Asia Venture Capital Elevation Capital Eximius Ventures |
| 10 Dec | Meesho | IPO | ₹5,421.20 Cr (~$645M); fresh issue ₹4,250 Cr + OFS ₹1,171.20 Cr | Not stated |
| 9 Dec | Emergent | Corporate | Undisclosed | Google AI Futures Fund |
| 9 Dec | Fibe | Series F | $35 Mn | International Finance Corporation (IFC) |
| 4 Dec | InMobi | Debt | $350 Mn (debt, secured against founders’ stake) | Elham Credit Partners SeaTown Holdings Varde Partners |
| 4 Dec | Ultraviolette Automotive | Series E | $45M | Lingotto Zoho |
| 2 Dec | StockGro | Series B | $16.7 Mn | Mukul Agrawal |
A closer read of the reported deals
One way to read the lead entries is to compare CollegeDekho with Heads Up For Tails. The tracker records Corporate Minority and $10 Mn for CollegeDekho, while Heads Up For Tails appears with Series B and $25 Mn. The similarity is that both are reported financing events; the difference is the business context and stated structure. Neither amount alone reveals the company’s cash needs, terms, dilution, or whether the proceeds have been received. The packet gives no basis for converting these headlines into a performance ranking.
A second contrast runs through Supply6 and WorkIndia. Their listed labels—Angel for Supply6 and Series B for WorkIndia—show why a monthly total can conceal very different transactions. A stage label describes how the report classifies a round, not a standardized legal instrument or a promise about what comes next. Where the label is broad or undisclosed, the register leaves it broad. The reported sums should likewise be read in their original currencies and wording, rather than treated as directly comparable valuations or cash available for operations.
This is also a reminder to distinguish the company story from the reporting record. The packet identifies 21 tracker entries and supplies linked reports, but the tracker’s own verification field is tracker-only. Even a company-source announcement can establish what a company said without independently establishing the terms, closing conditions, or later use of proceeds. The most defensible reading is therefore narrow: these names were included in the month’s collected funding coverage, with the amounts and round labels shown, and the references permit readers to inspect those reports. Claims about subsequent hiring, expansion, product launches, customer growth, financial health, or investor returns would need separate evidence.
The practical question for founders and operators is not whether a headline is large; it is what obligation and runway it creates. Equity may extend the period before cash generation must carry the business, but typically changes ownership. Debt can finance receivables or assets while leaving ownership intact, but creates servicing obligations. Public issues and secondary sales have their own buyer and issuer mechanics. The month’s entries include these differences where recorded, and leave them unresolved where the source label is incomplete. This distinction is more useful than a universal claim that one category of funding is winning.
Company context from secondary profiles
The following fields paraphrase the linked profile excerpts. Founders and founding years appear only where present in that metadata; missing information is marked unknown. The “reported status” column is secondary-profile reporting only and requires independent verification. It does not imply current operating status.
| Company | Business, summarized from profile | Founders / founding year | Profile classification; current status unknown | Profile source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CollegeDekho | Higher-education discovery and admissions service, with test preparation and study-abroad offerings. | Ruchir Arora, Rajiv Singh, Saurabh Jain, Rohit Saha; 2015 | Not reported in linked profile (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| Heads Up For Tails | Profile classifies the business in D2C; a more specific paraphrase is not available in this packet. | Rashi Narang, Samarth Narang, Ridhima Coelho; 2008 | Not reported in linked profile (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| StockGro | Profile classifies the business in Fintech; a more specific paraphrase is not available in this packet. | Ajay Lakhotia; 2020 | Not reported in linked profile (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| Digantara | Profile classifies the business in Defense & Aerospace; a more specific paraphrase is not available in this packet. | Anirudh Sharma, Rahul Rawat, Tanveer Ahmed; 2018 | Not reported in linked profile (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| MoEngage | Profile classifies the business in Customer Engagement Platform; a more specific paraphrase is not available in this packet. | Raviteja Dodda, Yashwanth Kumar; 2014 | Not reported in linked profile (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| Moxie Beauty | Profile classifies the business in Beauty & Personal Care; a more specific paraphrase is not available in this packet. | Nikita Khanna, Anmol Ahlawat; 2023 | Not reported in linked profile (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| Lawyered | Legal assistance service focused on motorists and on-road incidents. | Himanshu Gupta; 2018 | Not reported in linked profile (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| OneCard | Profile classifies the business in Credit Cards; a more specific paraphrase is not available in this packet. | Anurag Sinha, Rupesh Kumar, Vibhav Kirit Hathi, Hari Velayudan, Devang Shah; 2019 | Unicorn (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| Earthful | Profile classifies the business in D2C; a more specific paraphrase is not available in this packet. | Veda Gogineni, Sai Sudha Gogineni; 2020 | Not reported in linked profile (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| Skydo | Profile classifies the business in B2B Payments; a more specific paraphrase is not available in this packet. | Srivatsan Sridhar, Movin Jain; 2022 | Not reported in linked profile (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| Meesho | Online marketplace connecting sellers and consumers; this profile row uses its supplied sector classification. | Vidit Aatrey, Sanjeev Barnwal; 2015 | Listed (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| Emergent | AI-assisted app-building platform that turns natural-language instructions into software products. | Mukund Jha, Madhav Jha; 2025 | Unicorn (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| Fibe | Profile classifies the business in Consumer Lending; a more specific paraphrase is not available in this packet. | Akshay Mehrotra, Ashish Goyal; 2015 | Not reported in linked profile (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
| InMobi | Profile classifies the business in AdTech; a more specific paraphrase is not available in this packet. | Naveen Tewari, Mohit Saxena, Amit Gupta, Abhay Singhal; 2007 | Unicorn (profile classification only; current operating status unknown) | Profile |
Provisional weekly-source mentions
These 139 entries come from a separate weekly-source table supplied in the research record. They are provisional mentions, not verified additional rounds. The source grouping gives week or month context; it does not confirm an announcement date. Only exact company, round and amount matches against the tracker rows were removed. Similar-looking entries are retained because a partial match is not enough to establish identity. This second list is also incomplete public-source reporting.
Reading this month carefully
Three limits should travel with any interpretation of this record. First, tracker day labels and amounts have not been independently normalized or reconciled with filings; the direct links are provided so each report can be assessed in context. Second, the company profiles are secondary snapshots retrieved on 16 October 2026. Their descriptions, founders, founding years and any status labels should be checked against primary records before being treated as definitive. Third, the public-source union is incomplete. Absence from this list does not mean a company did not raise capital, and inclusion does not prove that an announced transaction closed.
Taken together, the entries are most valuable as a map of reported capital pathways and business categories, not as a leaderboard. The tension visible in December 2025 is specific: December’s deals offer a year-end cross-section of ownership and growth: strategic corporate capital, venture rounds and operating businesses at different stages. The distinctions matter more than a headline total, particularly where the investor is also a potential channel or parent. The evidence supports asking which financing form fits which operating model; it does not settle whether any company has achieved product-market fit, durable economics or a successful investor outcome. Those conclusions require evidence beyond round announcements.
Sources and editorial method
Transaction links in the deal register point to the original-source URLs supplied in the research record; the tracker pages are linked here for context: monthly tracker page. Profile links in the company table lead to the supplied secondary company profiles. Weekly mentions link to their supplied source and remain provisional by design. This article was assembled from the research record’s 21 extracted tracker records and 140 weekly-source mentions, with no claim of exhaustive market coverage.
Sources & further reading
- 2025-12 funding tracker
- CollegeDekho funding report
- Heads Up For Tails funding report
- Supply6 funding report
- WorkIndia funding report
- StockGro funding report
- WickedGud funding report
- Digantara funding report
- MoEngage funding report
- Moxie Beauty funding report
- Lawyered funding report
- Wakefit funding report
- OneCard funding report
- STAGE funding report
- Earthful funding report
- Skydo funding report
- Meesho funding report
- Emergent funding report
- Fibe funding report
- InMobi funding report
- Ultraviolette Automotive funding report
- StockGro funding report
- Collegedekho Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Heads Up For Tails Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Supply6 Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Workindia Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Stockgro Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Wickedgud Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Digantara Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Moengage Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Moxie Beauty Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Lawyered Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Wakefit Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Onecard Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Stage Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Earthful Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Skydo Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Meesho Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Emergent Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Fibe Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Inmobi Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
- Ultraviolette Automotive Company Profile — company profile (Lapaas Voice)
/* Comments */
Comments are offline right now — we reconnect automatically, nothing is lost.